The Death and Rebirth of Blogging

Since I started blogging almost three years ago there seems to have been an explosion of new blogs on Education. Surely that can only be a good thing. Really? I was drawn to blogging – and Twitter for that matter – more as an escape from the negativity of the staffroom and the relentless crushing of spirit I was often faced with. I’ve written before on how I found a new life on here, invigorated by the possibilities and free from the weight of defeatism I experienced at times. However, like the stereotypical Frankenstein’s monster, the very voices I was trying to get away from eventually caught up with me on here.

The success of Twitter as an educational force is a double-edged sword in many ways. Others have been encouraged to join in the conversation. But there has also been a shift away from blogs which offer strategies and advice to blogs which attempt to badger and harangue; blogs which lecture and criticize; blogs which offer academic theories on what we are all doing wrong. Fair enough. I think this could be the perfect place for those. I just wonder how much those blogs encourage others to do so.

Until now, academic research has, in many ways, been blocked off from teachers.  From current experience, as I try to find Educational Journals even with a University pass, I am discovering a world unknown to me, one which should be open to all teachers. But I digress. My point is that I don’t think blogging about that is particularly helpful to all teachers. I started blogging because I had been reading some excellent blogs from practicing teachers who shared their every day thoughts. I’m not sure I would have done so if I came across academic critiques of thousands of words.

I try to keep my posts to five hundred words or less. Short(ish) and sweet(ish).  The process of writing is a reflection on my own thoughts and that is my reward. It is a blog to focus on things and clarify things rattling around in my head. If people read them, so be it. If not, so be it. Like Woody Allen, I never go back and reread them after I’ve written them. My work has been done. I like to think that the simplicity of that is what may encourage others to blog too. You don’t have to be Professor Highbrow to write stuff. You just have to have an opinion.

I don’t disapprove of any of the blogs I read. Some I don’t bother with because I neither have the time or inclination to engage with them. I want to read the thoughts of others who are in similar situations to me. Teachers who want to share and think and just simply join in a conversation. I can get a lecture every day in school. I just believe that if we are to see a real impact, and a wide impact, then our blogs need to offer a space for teachers to believe that they can blog too. We are teachers. All of us.

One thought on “The Death and Rebirth of Blogging

  1. I’ve found that both blogs and twitter seem to have two faces: practical, supportive information and, sadly, rants which have more to do with the blogger feeling ‘validated’ (possibly because they don’t at school – and again, that’s possibly because of their way of seeing things).

Leave a Reply

