Being a Cock-Eyed Optimist in 2013

Sometime in the mid-nineties I found myself in a nightclub in Aberdeen – that’s a long story in itself. I don’t know what came over me but the idea that I would ask a girl to dance came to me and, suddenly, I was John Travolta in one of those films. This particular lady didn’t know how much her life was about to change. I don’t recall which song inspired me to wander over but I would imagine it was either She Sells Sanctuary by The Cult or Blue Monday. It was that sort of nightclub. Anyway, I digress.

Picture the scene as I shuffle over and ask her to dance…

She slams down her pint pot, stubs out her cigar and slowly turns to catch my eye. A step towards me, she leans in and whispers with all the charm of Joe Pesci in Goodfellas, her stale breath as intoxicating as her beauty, one index finger held up in front of me.

‘One dance!’

‘One dance!’ she sneered.

Of course I agreed. As far as I was concerned, I was in. It was a beautiful moment. Even though she walked off half way through the song it was a signal. Wasn’t it?

Two years ago tomorrow I started my blog. That terrifying point, where I could no longer procrastinate and find excuses not to, had passed and, let’s face it, I couldn’t break my most important resolution on day one. Immediate positive feedback gave me the confidence to write another post. Then another. My life has never been the same. As far as I was concerned, I was in.

Taking that first step has lead to Teachmeets in Stornaway…

20121230-232703.jpg
Newcastle…

20121230-232428.jpg

…as well as many others. It took me to Pedagoo and a world of like-minded educators. I have been invited to write assessment materials for the SQA. I have had my work published on The Guardian Teachers Network. I have been invited to review educational texts. I had my first work published in a book. It has been remarkable.

If you can find any connection between that and a nightclub in Aberdeen then please get in touch. It came to me when I was thinking about a review of my blog so far, perhaps some hopes for next year. However, all I can really say to anyone reading this who is in the same place as I was back then, is that sometimes you need to go for it. Ask the questions; answer them yourself if you like. But don’t find yourself reading this blog in year’s time having never found the courage to press the publish button.

I suppose the point is that you need to jump in. It might only be half the dance you thought but, hey, you can still throw a shoe about when you’re in here.

2 thoughts on “Being a Cock-Eyed Optimist in 2013

  1. And what we want to know is what happened to that lovely lady from Aberdeen? Did she become an SNP MSP? A prison guard? A Physics teacher? Methinks we should do a TV show tracking her dooon…. 😎

    But like you, I’ve received so much more from simply being on twitter or writing. I really need to get my finger out and start blogging properly again. Then I might get a few good gigs like you 😎

  2. Pingback: Blogging – A Message in a Bottle | Just Trying to be Better Than Yesterday

Leave a Reply

